Chapter 17: The Divisions of Faith

Bhaktivedanta VedaBase: Bhagavad-gītā As It Is 17.7

āhāras tv api sarvasya

tri-vidho bhavati priyah

yaj˝as tapas tathā dānam

teshām bhedam imam śrinu


āhārah — eating; tu — certainly; api — also; sarvasya — of everyone; tri-vidhah — of three kinds; bhavati — there is; priyah — dear; yaj˝ah — sacrifice; tapah — austerity; tathā — also; dānam — charity; teshām — of them; bhedam — the differences; imam — this; śrinu — hear.


Even the food each person prefers is of three kinds, according to the three modes of material nature. The same is true of sacrifices, austerities and charity. Now hear of the distinctions between them.


In terms of different situations in the modes of material nature, there are differences in the manner of eating and performing sacrifices, austerities and charities. They are not all conducted on the same level. Those who can understand analytically what kind of performances are in what modes of material nature are actually wise; those who consider all kinds of sacrifice or food or charity to be the same cannot discriminate, and they are foolish. There are missionary workers who advocate that one can do whatever he likes and attain perfection. But these foolish guides are not acting according to the direction of the scripture. They are manufacturing ways and misleading the people in general.

<<< >>>

Buy Online Copyright ęr The Bhaktivedanta Book Trust International, Inc.
His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupāda, Founder Ācārya of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness