Chapter 17: The Divisions of Faith

Bhaktivedanta VedaBase: Bhagavad-gītā As It Is 17.21

yat tu pratyupakārārtham

phalam uddiśya punah

dīyate ca pariklishtam

tad dānam rājasam smritam


yat — that which; tu — but; prati-upakāra-artham — for the sake of getting some return; phalama result; uddiśya — desiring; — or; punah — again; dīyate — is given; ca — also; pariklishtam — grudgingly; tat — that; dānam — charity; rājasamin the mode of passion; smritam — is understood to be.


But charity performed with the expectation of some return, or with a desire for fruitive results, or in a grudging mood, is said to be charity in the mode of passion.


Charity is sometimes performed for elevation to the heavenly kingdom and sometimes with great trouble and with repentance afterwards: "Why have I spent so much in this way?" Charity is also sometimes given under some obligation, at the request of a superior. These kinds of charity are said to be given in the mode of passion.

There are many charitable foundations which offer their gifts to institutions where sense gratification goes on. Such charities are not recommended in the Vedic scripture. Only charity in the mode of goodness is recommended.

<<< >>>

Buy Online Copyright r The Bhaktivedanta Book Trust International, Inc.
His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupāda, Founder Ācārya of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness